Drive the Awesome Autohbahns in Illinois

Every car enthusiast dreams of driving a Ferrari at max speed down the Autobahns. Luckily for me and the residents of the State of Illinois, we don’t have to go any further than Joliet.

Earlier this month, I was lucky enough to spend the day at the Autobahn Country Club Joliet via a personal invitation from Sales and Marketing Manager Ron Dabisch. After I checked in and got my wristband, I got to go on a tour of the members’ only section of the club and had a great lunch before I was led off to the tracks. The Autobahns have two sets of tracks, about three miles long, one that is ready to race on and one that is held open for members at all times.

The Napleton Porsche Performance Motorsport team, along with a custom motorcycle racing team, were also on hand.  It was awesome to watch these teams race and work one-on-one with instructors on their driving skills. From pre-track lessons about the dynamics of the high-speed course to behind-the-wheel instruction, it was awesome to watch these instructors at their best.

I was lucky enough to get out on the skid pad, autocross, kart track and about a mile loop on the south track for lead-follow. I worked with an instructor who explained the dynamics of driving on the course. It was amazing to be in an exotic but legal street vehicle on the racetrack, that I could have literally drove home when I was done. Yeah, I wish! You can also test drive in style behind the wheel of a BMW, Cadillac, Lexus, Mercedes-Benz, Nissan or Porsche while member/guest track time is available.

The hospitality at Autobahn County Club Jolie was fantastic! Check them out for a high-end boys’ night out or for a killer corporate team building event. I’d do it again any day and look forward to trip back in Fall!

Leave a Reply

